Help us email Governor Andrew Cuomo and state representatives and tell them to avoid budget cuts that will hurt local families.

New York State legislature.jpg

Email Gov. Andrew Cuomo

You can email Governor Cuomo here: https://www.governor.ny.gov/content/governor-contact-form

 

Topic: Human Services

Subject: State Budget

Message (copy and paste into form)

Dear Gov. Andrew Cuomo,

The COVID-19 pandemic is one of the most significant trials our State has ever faced, and its effects are disproportionately felt by those living in poverty. If the state were to enact cross-the-board budget cut, our community’s most vulnerable would be hit the hardest.

 

For the sake of the health and safety of families in our community, we ask that you: 

--Avoid to across-the-board budget cuts.

--Find to new ways to generate revenue for needed services by focusing on those who can afford it the most.

--Help struggling New Yorkers by ensuring that spending decisions prioritize people in poverty.


It is critical for the state to enact legislation creating new revenue sources and that new funding is focused on supporting those facing the greatest needs. These new revenue streams must:

--Be targeted to avoid creating any further financial pressure on those already hit hard by the pandemic, with the greatest contributions coming from those who can most afford it.

--Be sufficient to meet the newly COVID-heightened needs of people affected by poverty.

--Be prioritized for to ensure resources go to those in greatest need and most vulnerable, rather than general-purpose revenue or debt payments. It must intentionally counteract past policies that have disproportionately harmed low-income communities and communities of color.

Sincerely,

[YOUR NAME]

Email State Representatives

You can also email legislators and state budget office staff to let them know what our community needs, and ask for their help in getting the message to Governor Cuomo.

 

Message (copy and paste into email):​

Dear [STATE REPRESENTATIVE NAME],

The COVID-19 pandemic is one of the most significant trials our State has ever faced, and its effects are disproportionately felt by those living in poverty. If the state were to enact cross-the-board budget cut, our community’s most vulnerable would be hit the hardest.

 

For the sake of the health and safety of families in our community, we ask that you: 

--Avoid to across-the-board budget cuts.

--Find to new ways to generate revenue for needed services by focusing on those who can afford it the most.

--Help struggling New Yorkers by ensuring that spending decisions prioritize people in poverty.


It is critical for the state to enact legislation creating new revenue sources and that new funding is focused on supporting those facing the greatest needs. These new revenue streams must:

--Be targeted to avoid creating any further financial pressure on those already hit hard by the pandemic, with the greatest contributions coming from those who can most afford it.

--Be sufficient to meet the newly COVID-heightened needs of people affected by poverty.

--Be prioritized for to ensure resources go to those in greatest need and most vulnerable, rather than general-purpose revenue or debt payments. It must intentionally counteract past policies that have disproportionately harmed low-income communities and communities of color.

Sincerely,

[YOUR NAME]

 

Here’s who you can email:

Robert Mujica: robert.mujica@budget.ny.gov

Senate Majority leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins: scousins@nysenate.gov

Assembly Speaker Carl Heastie: Speaker@nyassembly.gov

Here’s a full list of State Assembly and Senate members who represent Monroe County, including newly elected members of our delegation. You can find your district representative at https://nyassembly.gov/mem/search/ and https://www.nysenate.gov/find-mysenator.

Rochester and Monroe County representatives:

Assemblymember Marjorie Byrnes

District 133

byrnesm@nyassembly.gov

Assemblymember-elect Josh Jensen

District 134

friendsofjoshjensen@gmail.com

Assemblymember-elect Jen Lunsford

District 135

Jen@VoteJenLunsford.com

Assemblymember Sarah Clark

District 136

clarks@nyassembly.gov

Assemblymember Demond Meeks

District 137

meeksd@nyassembly.gov

Assemblymember Harry Bronson

District 138

bronsonh@nyassembly.gov
 

Assemblymember Stephen Hawley

District 139

HawleyS@nyassembly.gov

Senator Pamela Helming

District 54

helming@nysenate.gov

Senator-elect Samra Brouk

District 55

info@samraforsenate.com

Senator-elect Jeremy Cooney

District 56

jeremy@onward56.com

Senator Patrick Gallivan

District 59

gallivan@nysenate.gov

Senator-elect Edward Rath

District 61

ED@EDRATHFORSENATE.COM

Senator Robert Ortt

District 62

Ortt@nysenate.gov